forlessnanax.blogg.se

Speeches about change
Speeches about change









“It makes you realize,” Lovell would say, “just what you have back there on Earth.”Īnd around the same time we began exploring space, scientists were studying changes taking place in the Earth’s atmosphere. Imagine what it looked like to children like me. It was an image of Earth -– beautiful breathtaking a glowing marble of blue oceans, and green forests, and brown mountains brushed with white clouds, rising over the surface of the moon.Īnd while the sight of our planet from space might seem routine today, imagine what it looked like to those of us seeing our home, our planet, for the first time. And later that night, they took a photo that would change the way we see and think about our world. So Frank Borman, Jim Lovell, William Anders-the first humans to orbit the moon -– described what they saw, and they read Scripture from the Book of Genesis to the rest of us back here. On Christmas Eve, 1968, the astronauts of Apollo 8 did a live broadcast from lunar orbit. (Applause.) It was important for me to speak directly to your generation, because the decisions that we make now and in the years ahead will have a profound impact on the world that all of you inherit. We are very grateful for their support.Īnd I want to say thank you to the Hoyas in the house for having me back. I want to thank Leader Pelosi and the members of Congress who are here. I want to thank the many members of my Cabinet and my administration. (Applause.) I want to thank him for hosting us. I want to thank your president, President DeGioia, who’s here today. It is good to be back on campus, and it is a great privilege to speak from the steps of this historic hall that welcomed Presidents going back to George Washington. And my first announcement today is that you should all take off your jackets. THE PRESIDENT: Thank you! (Applause.) Thank you, Georgetown! Thank you so much.











Speeches about change